Bikram Yoga Postures

Bikram yoga: What is it?

Bikram Yoga poses consist of 26 groups of postures (known as Asanas). By doing most of these yoga poses, one can exercise and invigorate all of the body by stimulating their glands, nerves, and organs and by improving circulation of oxygen and blood through the entire body; before you do all of these poses. The most important a part of Bikram Yoga is to continuously give attention to breathing calmly, where as for beginners may need weeks or even years of practice before their health can improve and can you completely look into smooth postures that are the fundamentals of yoga Bikram.

How can you practice Bikram Yoga?

You should be practicing your Bikram yoga poses facing a mirror, as suggested by many experts because several steps involve the use of a mirror and will help you master the certain postures, which are the basis of this yoga. For additional safety and comfort, ensure that you make use of a high quality Yoga mat as you do so. The standing postures loosen up the body, where as the ground poses squeeze, stretch, and twist various body parts. To support the spine during all these difficult and challenging postures you will need to keep the stomach muscles engaged. Ideally, you may perform these poses in a room with an average temperature of 107 Fahrenheit; on the other hand, if this is not a possibility, a somewhat cooler room or a warmer room will also do.

Before you begin doing the actual Bikram Yoga and fitness postures, start with doing the Standing Breathing pose, also called the Pranayama. This will assist you to expand your lungs, improve your flexibility and help in detoxification of the organs, and increase mental relaxation as well as blood flow – these types of beginner practices will prove to be very useful with your Bikram Yoga workout. Bikram yoga classes will help you master the 26 postures that this Yoga comes with. You can find out more on Yoga and Bikram yoga on

This article will provide the names and explanations of all 26 Bikram Yoga postures, here are the 26 Bikram poses:

1.) Pranayama Series

2.) Ardha-Chandrasana and Pada-Hastasana

3.) Utkatasana

4.) Garurasana

5.) Dandayamana-Janushirasana

6.) Dandayamana-Dhanurasana

7.) Tuladandasana

8.) Dandayamana-Bibhaktapada-Paschimotthanasana

9.) Trikanasana

10.) Dandayamana-Bibhaktapada-Janushirasana

11.) Tadasana

12.) Padangustasana

13.) Savasana

14.) Pavanamuktasana

15.) Sit-up

16.) Bhujangasana

17.) Salabhasana

18.) Poorna-Salabhasana

19.) Dhanurasana

20.) Supta-Vajrasana

21.) Ardha-Kurmasana

22.) Ustrasana

23.) Sasangasana

24.) Janushirasana with Paschimotthanasana

25.) Ardha-Matsyendrasana

26.) Khapalbhati


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *